Square shoes please…Help!!!


It was a Friday evening. I urged my friend to go shopping with me. I badly needed a pair of shoes I told her. “But you have plenty of them I thought..”,she said. “No…nothing really fits well. I need one. Lets go.. please…”

After a considerable amount of window shopping, finally selected one of those shops that seemed to have a good collection and made our headway.

One of the sales men rushed forward and asked if he could help. I politely refused and said that we could take care of it ourselves.

My friend chirped with all innocence. ” I will help you with this!”  Now, that’s what friends are for ! Poor girl..was totally oblivious to what was coming..:-)

She asked me , “What is your size?

“6 ½  “

“What? We don’t get 6 ½ here. It is 5 or 6 or 7. That’s it. Tell me a whole number.No fractions please.”

“OMG! That wont work!! 6 is gonna be small and 7 ..too big. In US, I would always go for a 6 ½!”

So, after some quick study of my lotus feet, we decided that 6 may work best , if I just manage to squeeze my foot in.

“But hey, I can squeeze my right foot, but not the left!”

“Why??”

‘I need a ‘wide’ for my left, otherwise the shoe presses my toe bone and it aches a lot.”

“Why the hell is that??”

“Yep”,I nodded,”There is no way I can wear a regular shoe which is not broad at the front.To be precise, the size is 6 1/2 W.”

“I have never heard of that! Anyways, Then let’s  look for something that is 6 but REALLY broad, so it can fit your big fat toe bone!” There was just a grimace from the other side.

After a quick search,she jumped in joy as she came with a pair that looked quite broad.

“This should fit you well.”

One look at it and I jumped. “No!!.. that has ‘ high heels’….”

“So?”

“Its not good for my right heel , which has a strained tendon.”

Seeing her face sag, I added, but it will work perfect for my left, though!! Oops..didn’t help..:-(

The search began again. A pair, hmm…has to be between 6 and 7, flat, wide enough for my toes, and soles soft enough for my heel..and  just one more thing..it should have a good support at the back, coz, … I tend to trip when I walk.

“Yes” she shouted. “Here is a pair. This gotta be it! It is a 6, quite broad at the front, heels flat and soft inner soles and has a strong back support..”

“It seems perfect. But…”

“But what now ??” She literally screamed and a couple of people turned their heads.

“I need a Black pair..these are Brown!”

She smiled.Now,  that was simple! She walked to the counter and asked the salesman to get a Black pair, absolutely the same as the one she had in her hands.

Pat came the reply” Sorry mam, these are shoes worn by the people in military and they come in brown or green only!!

“*&%^$#@!”

Oops! She would never come with me again for shoe shopping..

While, wearing stylish and elegant stilettos or pumps could be any blessed lady’s dream, I am still looking for a pair that is made for me..would’nt mind even if it were a pair of square shoes please…!! Ha..ha..hel..Help …!!!

3 Responses

  1. Reminds me of this blog post of mine

    http://suroba.wordpress.com/2010/01/11/a-foot-small/

    What can I say ? We sisters are doomed. And since you have the bunion(the one nicknamed “Betsy”) , things get more interesting.I can empathize with the friend especially after seeing your disappointment on getting a 7 size, low heeled shoe(size 7 with high heels were the requirement then, remember) and viola!! the same low heeled shoes are being asked this visit, with a 6.5 wide size.. LOL 🙂
    One picky sista, I tell you.. 🙂

  2. :-))…Good name..Betsy! I like that!
    Keeping my fingers crossed..

  3. Enjoyed this piece , felt as if it was me in the shoe shop. same shoe dilemmas here too.

Leave a Reply

