I am, so am ‘I’ ?


                   

                                                                     Am I

                                                                    The

                                                                    ‘I’ that moves?

                                                                                             No, not I

                                                                                            For

                                                                                           “I’ is just a form;

                                                                    Am I

                                                                   The

                                                                   ‘I’ that feels?

                                                                                            No, not I

                                                                                            For

                                                                                            ‘I’ feels;

                                                                  Am I

                                                                 The

                                                                ‘I’ that thinks?   

                                                                                            No, not I

                                                                                            For

                                                                                           ‘I’ thinks;

                                                                Am I

                                                                The

                                                                ‘I’ , the spirit?

                                                                                           The conscience?

                                                                                           The intellect?

                                                                                           The soul?

                                                                Know not I

                                                                Who am ‘I’?

                                                                I am, so am ‘I’ ?

 

31 Responses

  1. Yes, you are !!! Lovely thought provoking poem to end the year.

    I know not too, who am I !

  2. You are who you are.

  3. carry pride,
    be yourself,
    your poetry is precious..

    well done , love the creative part here.

  4. Greetings! Happy 2011.
    I invite you to become a participant at Thursday Poets Rally Week 36…
    visit me via this link to link in your entry…you have until Wednesday to make 18 comments among participants…
    Hope to see you in, Happy Sunday!
    your support is precious! Bless you.

  5. welcome in, have fun exploring other poets..

    thanks for the contribution.
    keep up the excellence.
    🙂

  6. Very interesting post. I just be.

  7. Yes, this is thought-provoking, and leads us to ask ourselves the question “Who am I really?”

  8. Very well written, I really enjoyed thinking 🙂

  9. Identity- does it start or end with the Id and ego?

    Interesting thought(s).

    🙂

  10. Shedding our ID – that’s what it’s all about … and it beings with these questions. Wonderful. Well done!

    I hope you are enjoy Rally visits and vistors.

    Poem on …

  11. you are you 🙂 nice!

  12. wonderful thought provoking poem.

  13. @Jamie – Yeah…My first few questions in the quest of truth 🙂

  14. Lovely poem…the eternal question “Who am I”.

  15. i am who i am say god! lovely thought provoking piece.. mines here- http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2010/02/14/hunger/

  16. complexity conveyed with simplicity, well done, thanks for sharing

  17. this was clever and wise word play 🙂

  18. […] Hema: https://hemarao.wordpress.com/2010/12/31/i-am-so-am-i/ […]

  19. What a cool format! Very clever.

  20. Very well expressed Hema Dear.. Wonderfully written..
    Hugs xox

    • It has been a while, hope that you have a promising and fulfilling 2011 ahead.
      We have enjoyed your support in 2010, a great big thanks here, cheers!

      We will have our 17th potluck beginning this Sunday, Hope to see you in.
      http://www.jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/

      our theme this week is: “the road ahead”, but you are welcome to share old poems or poems unrelated to our theme..

      The more you share, the happier we are…
      You have been a gem to our community, keep shining with your fabulous talent and have fun!

    • Thanks Olivia for your kind words…

  21. wonderful -falsely simple. more profound than it seems upon looking at the scarcity of words.

Leave a Reply

