Ode to a Rose


 

Thanks for the Perfect Poet Award – Wk 41. I accept it and nominate Kavita for Wk 42 Award.

http://promisingpoetscafe.wordpress.com/awards/the-perfect-poet-award-4-poets-rally-week-41/

Every morning

As soon as I wake up

And look out the window

I see your lovely face

Smiling back at me,

Welcoming me to another day,

Another day of sunshine;

()

As I see you

Dancing to the tune

Of the cool breeze.

It makes my heart leap

And I feel

That I have collected a heap

Of cheer and joy;

()

The tiny thorns around you

Reminds me of my own,

But your glittering face

Nudges me

To hold my head high

And not complain;

()

The slight bow of your head

Teaches me

Of humbleness;

Tells me to feel proud

But not vain;

()

The radiance you spread

Makes me forget

Some of the things

That I most dread;

()

Your fragrance sublime

I find it so divine

Prods me to spread a great spirit

Around me without any spite;

()

As I get out of the bed

I take a longing look at you

And it gives me

Enough courage

To drag me through

The rest of my day

The rest of my life…

…..()….

22 Responses

  1. i am seriously planning to place a rose plant in my window’s pane.
    nice post

  2. That’s why Shakespeare probably said a rose by any other name would smell as sweet …… Incomparable flower.

  3. Really good poem, I love all the word pictures!

  4. Lovely lessons from a lovely flower.loved the imagery that is so rich in this poem.

  5. This is very lovely,
    enjoyed your emotions.
    well done.

    A++
    Happy Potluck.

  6. a beautiful ode.. and a beauty amongst the thorns too, isn’t it? lovely dedication to the rose..

    Here’s My Potluck

  7. I love roses too, Hema. I feel just the same way as you do. They make my day and sometime embolden me as well.

    Nicely written poem. Dear sentiment. Well done.

  8. Invite you to join poets rally week 42,

    Bless you, your absence is missed.

    Keep up the excellence.

    You Rock!
    xx

    you win the perfect poet award for week 41, check your email/spam, let me know if you take the award.

    Thanks, hope to see you around.

  9. lovely poem like the lovely rose 🙂

  10. Hi Jingle,
    Thanks for the Award. I have accepted it.

  11. thanks for the acceptance…

    🙂

  12. stunning ! thank you for this poem

  13. I really like this…bright and cheerful…saying hello to a friend.

Leave a Reply

