Mother.


Mother. That is one relationship that is taken for          granted and is to be cherished every moment.  I sat down and put down my feelings for what my Mom has been to me. I am posting my poem today, so my mother’s day is special for her and not mixed up with the others. Of course, every mother is special and there is no doubt about it!

____________________________________________________________________

For three full Quarters

I lived on your resources

Bathed in the warm comfort of

The most wonderful spa within you;

 

When I opened my eyes

And saw unknown faces around me

Your bosom became my abode

Where I took refuge;

As I grew and made some friends

To you I would always turn

When in fear or in doubt

Or when friends turned into fiends;

You held my hand and made me learn

My alphabets and numbers

Without which I wouldn’t be

What I am today

And able to write this back to you;

You put up with my teenage vibes

And all my indolent ways

Though I would drive you crazy

You wouldn’t much complain;

Now I’m all grown up, a mother myself

And have my own life to take care,

But still you are such a support to me

Without you

I know not how I would survive;

Sometimes I feel guilty, I feel the pain

That its still you, who are holding my hand

Whereas it should actually be me

Holding yours and allowing you some rest;

I shall always be there for you

Whenever you need me;

I LOVE YOU AMMA!!

21 Responses

  1. Lovely lines. I suppose being a mother yourself, you can regard your mother even more.

  2. This is a perfectly lovely poem and a perfect homage to your mom. Well done and gracious.

    JamieDedes

  3. Wow! Wonderful post Hema. Loved the way you described the womb as a spa 🙂

  4. You love your mother and it flows through your words, your mother is deserving of every praise, it flows as well.
    Lovely Tribute

  5. this was amazingly touching. you can really feel the love and respect and gratitude you feel for your mama.
    makes me wanna call home 🙂

  6. awww that was so sweet and loving, nice work! 🙂
    enjoy the potluck!

    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2011/05/25/the-night-of-the-teardrops/

  7. both of you are blessed,

    beautiful tribe to mother.
    well done.

    🙂

  8. I am showing this to my Amma:)Thank you for a lovely poem:)

  9. Awww so sweet

  10. Sincere & touching tribute:)

  11. A sweet tribute indeed, hope she enjoys it, and happy mom day to you as well, take care.

  12. Beautiful journey any kid would love to be there… amazing tribute for your mom… wishing happy mothers day to your mom and to you …loved the description when you are in the womb of your mother… touching
    Keep it up
    Cheers
    Dawn

Leave a Reply

